

## United Sril ankan Muslim Association of Australia

# Special General Meeting Minutes

25<sup>th</sup> August 2019

### I. Call to order

**Facilitator Name** 

### II. Quorum

- a) Notice of the meeting had been given to all members
- b) It was noted that a quorum of members was present at the meeting in accordance with the organisation's constitution.

#### III. Attendees

The following members from the management committee were present:

### Secretary Name

Representatives from the floor:

Sherine Azoor, Thameena Zarani, Arshad Samsudeen, Fahmi Haniffa, Ruzna Hsums, Falih shums, Fathahiya Mohamed, Farah Dole, Yasmin Vilcassim, Yousuf Hassan, Eddie Dole, Naufal Shariffdeen, Nawaz Salahudeen, Nawaz Vilcassim Shazia Faleel, Rizan Abdeen, Ishrath Batcha, Dhilhaam Fazil, Hanif Mohamed, Sithy Marikar, Asadh Yusuf, Hilmy Cader, Mumtaz Hussain, Zabeedh Bin Hamid, Nashmie Cader, Mishan Mohinudeen, Mohamed Mohideen, Ayesha Dole, Nizra Haniffa, Fayaz Zurfick, Shamara Nazeer, Nashmie Cader, Rasmy Kabeer, Rifka Naufal.

### IV. Election of the Management Committee and Subcommittees for 2019/20

- a) Management Committee
  - Nominations for the post of President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Assistant Secretary, Assistant Treasurer, Editor and one committee member were received prior to the deadline and were appointed successfully.

Position	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
President	Falih Shums	Fahmi Haniffa	Asadh Yusuf



Vice President	Miqsan Mohinudeen	Yusuf Zarani	Shahla Vilcassim
Secretary	Ruzna Shums	Fahmi Haniffa	Asadh Yusuf
Treasurer	Faariq Furqan	Fahmi Haniffa	Nazeem Yakoob
Asst. Secretary	Amr Sideek	Falih Shums	Ruzna Shums
Asst. Treasurer	Uzmaan Nazeem	Falih Shums	Ruzna Shums
Editor	Rizan Abdeen	Falih Shums	Ruzna Shums
Committee Member	Adil Thaha	Falih Shums	Ruzna Shums
Committee Member	Dhilhaam Fazil	Miqsan Mohinudeen	Naufal Sharrifdeen
Committee Member	Hanif Mohamed	Dhilhaam Fazil	Eddie Dole
Committee Member	Shazia Faleel	Rizan Abdeen	Fahmi Haniffa

## ii) Janaza Subcommittee was elected as follows

Position	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
Member	Mr and Mrs Sam Samsudeen	Eddie Dole	Fahmi Haniffa
Member	Eddie Dole	Naufal Sharifdeen	Sithy Marikar
Member	Yousoof Hassan	Eddie Dole	Rasmy Kabeer
Member	Abdul Rahman	Mohamed Najeeb	Naufal Sharifdeen
Member	Jauhar Najeeb	Hanif Mohamed	Mishal Mohinudeen
Member	Imtiaz Mohamed	Eddie Dole	Rasmy Kabeer



Member	Nawaz	Eddie Dole	Areeb Hameed
	Salahudeen		

## iii) Education Subcommittee was elected as follows:

Position	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
Member	Fahmi Haniffa	Nazeem Yakoob	Shahla Vilcassim
Member	Khadija Haniffa	Fahmi Haniffa	Nazeem Yakoob
Member	Ziada Tokhi	Fahmi Haniffa	Asadh Yusuf
Member	Nazeem Yakoob	Fahmi Haniffa	Nazeem Yakoob

## (1) Remaining positions will be filled by the Management Committee

## iv) Positive Ageing Subcommittee was elected as follows:

Position	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
Member	Yasmin Vilcassim	Farah Dole	Sithy Marikar
Member	Nizra Haniffa	Fathahiya Mohamed	Sithy Marikar
Member	Sithy Marikar	Yusuf Zarani	Hanif Mohamed
Member	Farah Dole	Yusuf Zarani	Shahla Vilcassim

## v) Youth Subcommittee was elected as follows:

Position	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
Member	Raashid Mohideen	Falih Shums	Ruzna Shums



### vi) Grants Subcommittee was elected as follows:

Position	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
Member	Yusuf Zarani	Shahla Vilcassim	Thameena Zarani
Member	Shahla Vilcassim	Yusuf Zarani	Asadh Yusuf
Member	Hishan Naufal	Nawaz Vilcassim	Naufal Sharifdeen
Member	Ruzna Shums	Fahmi Haniffa	Shahla Vilcassim

## V. New President's address

a) Falih Shums thanked founder members, trustees and past Committees. He briefly outlined his plans for the organization going forward and his vision of USMAA 2.0.

### VI. Other Business

a) None to discuss

## VII. Adjournment

Facilitator Name adjourned the meeting at 1600.

Minutes submitted by: Shahla Vilcassim Minutes approved by: Yusuf Zarani